D&AD – John Lewis

The first thing I had to do for this brief was to choose a brief from all the D&ad briefs and complete it. So the one I decided to choose was John Lewis. The brief for this was to develop an in store experience that would attract its current and future customers. The brief was the longer part of the overall brief and I wanted to come up with something that I would be able to relate to.

So to start with my ideas and what I wanted to do, I first needed to think of who I would be targeting, and what are the types of problems that might be faced whilst doing your shopping. The first thing that popped to my mind was children, and that it is very difficult to do your shopping whilst with them.

So I started to do some research to find my insight and what the exact problem is. From here I found the insight “kids ruin shopping each and every time”. I now needed to find a way to solve this problem. Which I them came up with the concept:

Picture

The idea for this was to keep kids distracted whilst shopping with an augmented reality game. I thought of this idea as kids like tablets and phones and ‘little johnnie’ is an easily accessible app for the young kids of john lewis to be distracted while their parents shop.

To show this idea I created a mock up of the app that would be kidi friendly and also an image that shows how it works.

Untitled-1.png

The other elements o this app would be that you will have the same characters and the collectables would change depending on the seasons. The little icons could change if its easter, christmas, halloween etc. This also keeps it culturally relevant and also offers some excitement for the kids every time they go shopping instead of misery. It also keeps it up to date and prevents it from getting boring.

I chose animals as characters because although it may be a cliche, its easy and relevant for the kids to understand

I also created a quick image of how the app would work, just to show a scenario which it would be in.

Screen Shot 2018-03-23 at 14.29.30

Some of the feedback I received regarding this brief was to create a case study video to help show users how this works. Going to film and edit became very difficult and feedback of my mockup was very poor and was not understood. I thought the best way for me to show how this app would work would be to create a simple still that would show what to do and demonstrate it.  In addition to this I decided to create extra supporting marketing material to really show them how this idea would work in real life and think about what it could look like if it was to be marketed.

For this next step I took some of John Lewis traditional advertising looks and interpreted this into my design, to show how I understand and have taken on board their design.

I also showed how it would work on a social media channel and what social media channel would be best for the audience we would be targeting.

I think the thing I would need to improve on most for this project would be how to visualise the idea and to help to show this idea and how it would work. At the beginning of this project I enjoyed it very much but as I started to find more problems, it became harder to solve and took the fun out of it. So the top thing ive learned from this is to think of all aspects before choosing a brief.

Leave a comment